Email Updates


Wrestling - Boys Varsity
News | Announcements | Schedule | Roster | Photo Gallery | Videos

Baltazar "JoJo" Gonzalez named as Connecticut's "Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award" Winner

Baltazar "JoJo" Gonzalez, two time New England, State Open and CIAC Class M Champion topped off his career by being named the "Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award" winner in Connecticut.

The DSHSEA was established in 1996 to honor Olympic and World champion Dave Schultz, whose career was cut short when he was murdered in January 1996. He was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Member in 1997 and as a member of the United World Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2016. The state winners are evaluated and selected on the basis of three criteria: success and standout performances and sportsmanship in wrestling; review of GPA and class rank, academic honors and distinctions; and participation in activities that demonstrate commitment to character and community. The Hall of Fame accepts nominations for the High School Excellence awards, and a committee, with input from Hall of Fame state chapters, selects state and regional winners. National winners are then chosen from the regional winners.

2017 Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award State Winners

Alabama - Zachary Van Alst, Montgomery Catholic Prep School

Alaska - Tristen Evans, Bethel High School

Arizona - Brandon Courtney, Desert Edge High School

Arkansas - Caleb Freeman, Searcy High School

California - Justin Mejia, Clovis High School

Colorado - Hunter Willits, Pueblo County High School

Connecticut - Baltazar Gonzalez, Ellis Technical High School

Delaware - Chase Archangelo, Smyrna High School

Florida - Bryce Rogers, Lake Highland Prep School

Georgia - Matthew Waddell, Gilmer High School

Hawaii - Brian Pascua, Iolani School

Idaho - Casey Randles, Coeur d' Alene High School

Illinois - Austin O'Connor, St. Rita of Cascia High School

Indiana - Andrew Davison, Chesterton High School

Iowa - Ryan Leisure, Clear Lake High School

Kansas - Clay Lautt, Saint James Academy

Kentucky - Casey Cornett, Simon Kenton High School

Louisiana - Steven Shields, Brother Martin High School

Maine - Cody Craig, Skowhegan High School

Maryland - Bailey Thomas, Our Lady of Good Counsel

Massachusetts - Jake Ferri, Shawsheen Valley Technical High School

Michigan - Ben Freeman, Walled Lake Central High School

Minnesota - Brady Berge, Kasson-Mantorville High School

Missouri - Connor Brown, Oak Grove High School

Montana - Parker Filius, Havre High School

Nebraska - Korbin Meink, Skutt Catholic High School

Nevada - Ian Timmins, Earl Wooster High School

New Hampshire - George Tarwo, Concord High School

New Jersey - Chase Singletary, Blair Academy

New Mexico - Jose Tapia, Capital High School

New York - Yianni Diakomihalis, Hilton High School

North Carolina - Blaine Mainz, Jacksonville High School

North Dakota - Jesse Shearer, West Fargo High School

Ohio - Kaleb Romero, Mechanicsburg High School

Oklahoma - Daton Fix, Charles Page High School

Oregon - Haydn Maley, Roseburg High School

Pennsylvania - Spencer Lee, Franklin Regional High School

Rhode Island - Nick Martino, Bishop Hendricken High School

South Carolina - Noah North, Lugoff-Elgin High School

South Dakota - Tyler Waterson, Spearfish High School

Tennessee - Nick Boykin, Riverdale High School

Texas - Jack Skudlarczyk, Westlake High School

Utah - Ashton Seely, Juab High School

Vermont - Brandon Cousino, Vergennes High School

Virginia - John Borst, Sherando High School

Washington - Dalton Young, Lakeside High School

West Virginia - Noah Adams, Independence High School

Wisconsin - Devin Bahr, West Salem/Bangor High School

Wyoming - Hayden Hastings, Sheridan High School